Southwest Sports Medicine & Orthopedics

Getting You Back In The Game

Southwest Sports Medicine & Orthopaedics (SWSMO) was founded in 2003 by Jon M. Ellis, M.D. The practice was launched with the goal of providing advanced treatment of sports related injuries to all levels of athletes in the Central Texas area. After 14 years, Dr. Ellis has not wavered in his mission to bring the highest level of care to his patients. He began surrounding himself with physicians of the same caliber in 2005 when Dr. David Haynes, a board-certified sports medicine Orthopaedic surgeon, brought his practice to Waco. Dr. Ellis added Primary Care Sports Medicine specialists, to allow SWSMO to offer comprehensive sports medicine care along with orthopedic surgery. Dr. Chris Miars, Dr. Corbett Boone, Dr. Jaeson Courseault and Dr. Laura Irvin. This includes services such as concussion management, pulmonary function testing and musculoskeletal ultrasound that provide improved in-office diagnostic capabilities. In December of 2009, SWSMO became the Team Physicians for Baylor Athletics, assuming medical coverage to all aspects of Baylor University Athletics. Southwest Sports Medicine and Orthopaedics have added key members to their group to include: Hand, Wrist & Elbow Specialist, Dr. Scott Hecox; Foot & Ankle specialist, Dr. Paul Bednarz; Total Joint Specialist, Dr. David Ferguson, Surgical Spine Specialist, Dr. Freeland Ackley, and Dr. Bradley Gilliam, Specializing in Sports Medicine and arthroscopic treatments of the shoulder, elbow, hip and knee. These professionals allow SWSMO to bring the highest level of care to the injured athlete and active adult. When that time comes and your lifestyle slows because of Joint Pain, Dr. David Ferguson can help you at the Southwest Sports Medicine Total Joint Clinic, specializing in Total Joint reconstruction. Southwest Sports Medicine & Orthopaedics gets you back in the game.

Southwest Sports Medicine & Orthopedics

50 Hillcrest Medical Blvd,
Suite 303

Best of Waco Winner

Orthopedic Surgeon, Dr. Jon M. Ellis, 2010-2013, 2015, 2016, 2018, 2019